After rigorous essay writing sessions and validation of submitted entries, eighteen finalists have emerged winners of the Essay Writing Competition in the recently announced Federal Government’s education advocacy programme for displaced children in Borno, Adamawa and Yobe states.

According to a statement signed by the Senior Special Assistant on Media & Publicity, Office of the Vice President, Laolu Akande, the Grand Finale will hold Thursday in Maiduguri, Borno State where the finalists will present their education advocacy videos at an event to be attended by dignataries and functionaries from across the three states.
The Protecting Education Advocacy Challenge to reorient children affected by insurgency in the 3 Northeast states was announced November 20 and kicked off soon after garnering 3079 of such children showing keen interest in the competition by turning in their entries.
“The enthusiasm and active participation of these children in the Essay Competition is indicative of their willingness to be the voices raised so that education is protected for them,” according to the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Internally Displaced Persons, IDPs, Dr Mariam Masha.

The eighteen finalists, six from each state were the lucky winners out of 3,079 entries received from the three states, with Borno having 1,337, closely followed by Adamawa with 1,230 while Yobe had a total of 512 entries.

The winners from Borno are Aisha Musty and Bukar Abdulrahman in the 8-11 years category; Abubakar Musa and Zulai Mikaila in the 12-14 Years Category and Hauwa Bulus and Kaka Emmnauel in the 15-18 years category.

From Adamawa State, the winners are Emmanuel Andrawus and Faith Mathew in the 8-11 Years Category; Prince Midenda Napatali and Abba Gana-Bundi in the 12-14 years while in the 15- 18 years category are Grace Markus and Ali Bulama.

Modu Aisami and Adamu Ibrahim emerged in the 8-11 years category in Yobe State. Other winners in the state are Fatima Lawan Jinbam and Mustapha Abdullahi in the 12- 14 years Category and Sadiq Abubakar and Abubakar Baba Adam were winners in the 15-18 years category.