The 2019 general elections began on a peaceful note on Saturday with the presidential and national assembly elections held across the country.

However, results trickling in from some polling units across the country showed some pleasant surprises.

Inside Aso Rock Villa, the presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (APC), Mr. Atiku Abubakar, thrashed the incumbent president and candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Muhammadu Buhari at one of the polling units.

While Aitku scored 84 votes, Buhari received 73.

But Atiku lost in his polling unit, Ajiya unit 02 in Gwadabawa Ward of Yola North local government area of Adamawa to Buhari.

While Buhari polled 187, Atiku got 167 votes.

The PDP presidential candidate won the polling unit of the speaker of the House of Representatives in Bauchi State in the presidential election.

The result as announced at the Central Primary School Gwarangah, Bauchi PU 007A, Dogara’s polling unit showed that PDP scored 285 in the presidential election while APC scored 15.

In Lagos, the PDP presidential candidate floored his APC counterpart at the Femi Okunnu polling unit in Ikoyi, a polling unit of the APC governorship candidate, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu

While polled 52 votes, Buhari scored 48.

Conversely, the APC won at unit 004 Hinderea Road, Liverpool area, Apapa which is the polling unit of the PDP governorship candidate, Mr. jimi Agbaje the Senatorial and Presidential polls in

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the APC polled 83 votes in the presidential election at the unit while PDP got 80 votes.

Bauchi and Lagos states are controlled by the APC, but the speaker of the House of Representatives is a member of the PDP.

In Ogun State, the governorship candidate of the ruling APC, Mr. Dapo Abiodun lost in his Ward 3 Unit 2 polling unit, Ita Osanyin in Iperu, Ikenne local government area to Atiku who polled 124 votes while Buhari had 118 votes.

Also, the former governor of the state, Mr. Gbenga Daniel delivered his polling Ward 12, Isofe Sagamu to the PDP where Atiku polled 137 votes to defeat Buhari who garnered 87 votes.

However, the APC won both the presidential and national assembly elections in the polling unit of the former president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo in Abeokuta.

Obasanjo backs the African Democratic Congress (ADC) which is an ally of the PDP.

At his polling unit 22, Ward 11, Olusomi Compound, Totoro Road, Sokori, in Abeokuta North local government area, Buhari scored 88 votes while Atiku had 18.

In Ondo State, the presidential candidate of the African Action Congress (AAC), Mr. Omoyele Sowore defeated both Buhari and Abubakar in his polling unit.

“We defeated @APCNigeria APC’s Muhammadu Buhari @MBuhari and PDP’s Abubakar Atiku @atiku at our polling unit 005, Apoi Ward llc In Ese Odo LGA, Ondo State. Final Results: AAC 208, APC 82, PDP 11, AA 8,” Sowore announced in a tweet.

“This is a winning party and a movement created to go the distance. We have silenced those who said Sowore cannot win in his polling unit. Surely, ultimately, without a doubt, we will silence the cabals that have held this nation in a vice-like grip for far too long,” he added.

The Kaduna State governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai won his polling unit for Buhari with 371 votes to 44 votes.

But the senator representing Kaduna Central, Mallam Shehu Sani, who defected from the APC to the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) to seek re-election, lost his polling unit in Anguwan Sarki.

While the APC polled 167, PRP had 63.

In Kwara State, the senate president, Dr. Bukola Saraki, delivered his ancestral polling unit, Ode-Opobiyi to the PDP, defeating his sister and family arch rival, Gbemisols of the APC.

At polling unit 005, Agbaji quarters, I Ajikobi ward in Ilorin West local government council area, PDP polled 129 votes against APC’s 68 in the presidential result.

In the senate result, PDP polled 269 votes and APC, 60 while in the House of Representatives result, PDP polled 253 and APC, 53.

Also in the two other results from the Ode-Opobiyi polling unit 006, PDP polled 234 while the APC got 152 in the presidential election.

In the senate result, PDP polled 270 while the APC got 120 APC votes; in the House of Representatives result, PDP polled 269 and APC, 130 votes.

At the polling unit 021 of Ode-Opobiyi in Agbaji quarters, senatorial result showed that PDP polled 167 votes and APC, 57; House of Representatives, PDP, 164, APC 63 while in the presidential result, PDP polled 156 and APC, 67 votes.